Home General info, address, phone, e-mail, & hours "Patron Review" to view what you have checked out,  renew items, place holds, change pin, etc. Homework, Reference, Full Text Magazines, Databases, Bullitt County, Kentucky, and other Information Bestsellers, Suggested Reading Lists, "Novelist", Reviews of books and movies Children, Teen, and Adult Library Programs Address, Phone, E-mail, Hours, & General Info about the Library Site Map

 

Pathfinder about  

BUGS

Visit Bullitt County Public Libraries

Web Links

Where you can learn more about bugs, insects and other topics from thousands of books, videos, DVDs, books on tape, books on CD, links from the library website, and research databases.

The library is free. You can find everything from fun books for kids and adults to in-depth research materials. You can also use our research databases if you have a current library card. We have access to library collections from libraries around the world using our Interlibrary Loan network.

Please stop by and see for yourself all the wonderful things available at your public library.

 

 

Bug Bios  A good collection of insect pictures

 

Welcome to the wonderful world of insects   

 

Insects of the Web   A large portal site

 

Tasty insect recipes    Iowa State University

 

Iowa State University of  Entomology image gallery 

 

Franklin Institute Insect links 

 

Antbase  ant species around the world

 

3-D Insects

 

Amazing Insects

 

Insect Articles for Food Insects Newsletter 

 

Yahooligans page information and fun games about insects   

 

University of South Carolina Insect Lesson Plans

 

Insects at Enchanted Learning Rhymes, Crafts, Coloring Printouts, and Quizzes 

 

University of Florida Insect sounds 

 

Bugs Talking Web page using Flash in English and Spanish

 

Insect Sounds 

 

Insects that interact with human activities

 

Movies of insects

 

Beneficial Insects

 

Center for Disease Control Insects and Diseases

 

Cicada  17 year locust emerging

Books
The big bug book
Margery Facklam
 
J595.7 FACK
The amazing bookof insect records
Woods, Samuel G. 1999
 
J595.7 WOOD

National Audubon
Society first field guide.
Insects 1998
 
J595.7 WILS

Night science for kids
Terry Krautwurst  2003
 
J591.5 KRAU
 
Peterson first guide to
Insects of North America
Christopher Leahy 1987
 
J595.7 LEAH

 

 

Joyful noise: poems
for two voices
Paul Fleischman 1988
 
J 811.54 FLEI
Water Insects
Sylvia A. Johnson  1989
 
 J 595.7092 JOHN

 

Going buggy! jokes about insects
Peter & Connie Roop 1986
 
J818 ROOP
Draw 50 creepy crawlies
Lee J Ames 1991
 
J743 AMES

 

True Bugs:
when is a bug really a bug
Sara Swan Miller 1998
 
J595.7
 
Bright beetle
Rick Chrustowski
 
Follows the life cycle
of the small insects
known as ladybugs,
From egg through
larva and pupa stages
to fully developed adult. 2000

Bugs! bugs! Bugs!
Bob Barner
 
Nonsense rhyme
introduces children
to familiar bugs.
Includes a fun
facts sections.
J 574.5 HEST

Bugs!
By David T Greenberg
 
Celebrates the
disgusting and
horrible things you
can do with a bunch
of bugs. 
More pet bugs : a kid’s
guide to Catching
and keeping Insects
and other Small Creatures
Sally Kneidel 1999
 
J638 KNEI
Locust pocus:
a book to bug you 2001
 
Douglas McKelvey

Butterflies and Moths
Robert Mitchell 1987
 
595.789 MITCH

 
Special Bullitt Co Library Websites
 
A Bullitt Co library card or password is required to access some of these sites
Library on-line catalog
Includes full text articles from thousands of magazines and journals
www.bcplib.org/bullittl.htm
Includes links about Bullitt County including rivers, maps, and demographics
www.bcplib.org/kentucky.htm
Includes links about the Sate of Kentucky including governmental agencies, laws, and wildlife links
www.bcplib.org/search_engines.htm
Includes a large collection of search engines to chose from
www.bcplib.org/search_eigines_for_kids.htm
Includes starting points for kids searching the web
www.bcplib.org/homework.htm
Includes starting points for all kinds of homework

 

Photos used in pamphlet supplied by Bernheim Forest and Arboretum

Photos