Home General info, address, phone, e-mail, & hours "Patron Review" to view what you have checked out,  renew items, place holds, change pin, etc. Homework, Reference, Full Text Magazines, Databases, Bullitt County, Kentucky, and other Information Bestsellers, Suggested Reading Lists, "Novelist", Reviews of books and movies Children, Teen, and Adult Library Programs Address, Phone, E-mail, Hours, & General Info about the Library Site Map

Stream Restoration Project

Pathfinder

Visit Bullitt County Public Libraries

 

Web Links

There you can learn more about streams and other topics from thousands of books, videos, DVDs, books on tape, books on CD, links from the library website, and research databases.

Access to the library is free. We can help you with casual reading or in-depth research. We can help you with free access to research databases. If you are looking for specialized material and we do not own it, we have access to library collections from libraries around the world using our Interlibrary Loan network.

We invite you to stop by and see for yourself all the wonderful things available to your public library.

 

 

Alice Jones's Watershed Planning Links & Diversions

United States Geological Survey Water Resources of Kentucky

USGS Biological Resources

Biennial assessment of Ohio River water quality conditions for water year 2000 - 2001

Kentucky water watch

National Biological Information Infrastructure

Frogs and Toads of Kentucky

Kentucky Watersheds

The Biodiversity Partnership

Kentucky's unusual fish

Common fishes of Kentucky photo gallery

Kentucky Flora and Fauna

Salamanders of Kentucky

Common amphibians of Kentucky

Critter case files

Robyn's aquatic insect page

Books
Pond life; a guide to common plants and animals of North American ponds and lakes
George K Reid
574.929 Reid  
 
Life in ponds and streams  William Amos  591.52 Hir Ridgway
The wild & scenic rivers of America  Tim Palmer  331.92 Palm Ridgway
Field manual of Kentucky Fishes  William Mclay  Reference 597.020 Clay
Kentucky Rivers Assessment: a cooperative statewide rivers assessment by the Ky division of Water and the Rivers, Trials, and Conservation Assistance Program of the National Park Service  1992  Reference 333.91 Kent MW
 
Children's Books
And still the turtle watched 
by Sheila MacGill-Callahan 

Turtle carved in rock on a bluff over the Hudson River by Indians long ago watches with sadness the changes man brings over the years.

E MACG
The living river
by  Nigel Hester

Examines the network that exists between plants, fish, insects, and other animals that cohabit rivers.

Come back salmon
by Molly Cone
Describes the efforts of the Jackson Elementary School in Everett, Washington, to clean up a nearby stream, stock it with salmon, and preserve it as an unpolluted place where the salmon could return to spawn.
 
 
 
Special Bullitt Co Library Websites

 

A Bullitt Co library card or password is required to access some of these sites
Library on-line catalog
Includes full text articles from thousands of magazines and journals
www.bcplib.org/bullittl.htm
Includes links about Bullitt County including rivers, maps, and demographics
www.bcplib.org/kentucky.htm
Includes links about the Stae of Knetucky including givernmental agencies, laws, and wildlife links
www.bcplib.org/search_engines.htm
Includes a large collection of search engines to chose from
www.bcplib.org/search_eigines_for_kids.htm
Includes starting points for kids searching the web
www.bcplib.org/homework.htm
Includes starting points for all kinds of homework